Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

School of Communications Faculty & Staff
Full-Time Faculty

Ed Adams

July 06, 2022 10:38 AM
Dean, Professor : Media History
A-501 HFAC
801-422-1221
ed_adams@byu.edu

Kristoffer Boyle

July 06, 2022 09:50 AM
Associate Professor : Journalism
322 BRMB
801-422-3272
kris_boyle@byu.edu

Pamela Brubaker

July 05, 2022 10:11 AM
Associate Professor, Associate Director – Graduate Studies : Public Relations, strategic communications, social media, research
320 BRMB
801-422-5591
pamela_brubaker@byu.edu

Clark Callahan

July 05, 2022 10:21 AM
Professor, Associate Director – Faculty Success : Comms Studies; Theories of intercultural adaptation; Historical diffusion of innovation; Media ecology; Digital Comms
360 BRMB
801-422-1493
clark_callahan@byu.edu

Joel Campbell

July 06, 2022 09:58 AM
Associate Teaching Professor : Journalism; Reporting; Editing
314 BRMB
801-422-2125
joeljaycampbell@gmail.com

Ed Carter

July 08, 2022 01:36 PM
Professor and Director of the School of Communications
329 BRMB
801-422-4340
ed_carter@byu.edu

Scott Church

July 06, 2022 10:06 AM
Associate Professor : Comms Studies; Popular culture, media ecology, online culture and rhetoric
305 BRMB
801-422-0578
scott_church@byu.edu

Dale Cressman

July 06, 2022 10:10 AM
Associate Professor : Media history
310 BRMB
801-422-1686
cressman@byu.edu

Chris Cutri

July 06, 2022 10:42 AM
Associate Professor : Creative concepting for advertising; Television commercial production; Visual literacy
312 BRMB
801-422-1358
chris_cutri@byu.edu

Jason Freeman

July 06, 2022 10:57 AM
Assistant Professor : Advertising
328 BRMB
801-422-4947 
jason_freeman@byu.edu

Kevin John

July 06, 2022 11:00 AM
Associate Professor : Comms Studies; Health communications and media
234A BRMB
801-422-7159
kevin_john@byu.edu

Devin Knighton

July 06, 2022 11:03 AM
Assistant Professor : Public Relations
328 BRMB
801-422-5731
devin.knighton@byu.edu

Kenneth Plowman

July 06, 2022 11:07 AM
Associate Professor : Public Relations
326 BRMB
801-422-6493
ken_plowman@byu.edu

Quint Randle

July 06, 2022 11:11 AM
Associate Professor : Advertising
332 BRMB
801-422-1694
quint_randle@byu.edu

Othello Richards

July 06, 2022 11:16 AM
Assistant Professor : Comms Studies
306 BRMB
801-422-0450
othello_richards@byu.edu

Tom Robinson

July 06, 2022 11:22 AM
Professor : Advertising
210A BRMB
801-422-3977
tom_robinson@byu.edu

Miles Romney

July 06, 2022 11:29 AM
Assistant Professor : Journalism
304 BRMB
801-422-0868
miles_romney@byu.edu

Jeff Sheets

July 06, 2022 11:33 AM
Teaching Professor : Advertising
331 BRMB
801-422-3524
jeff_sheets@byu.edu

Brian G. Smith

July 06, 2022 11:38 AM
Associate Professor : Public Relations
303 BRMB
801-422-7889
brian.g.smith@byu.edu

Steve Thomsen

July 06, 2022 11:43 AM
Professor : Public Relations; International Media Studies
324 BRMB
801-422-2078
steven_thomsen@byu.edu

Robert Walz

July 06, 2022 11:46 AM
Associate Teaching Professor : Public Relations
316 BRMB
801-422-1613
robert_walz@byu.edu

Christopher Wilson

July 05, 2022 10:16 AM
Associate Professor, Associate Director – Undergraduate Studies : Public Relations
360C BRMB
801-422-0988
chriswilson@byu.edu

Jessica Zurcher

July 06, 2022 12:54 PM
Assistant Professor : Comms Studies
318 BRMB
801-422-0303
jessica_zurcher@byu.edu
Staff

Warren Bingham

July 06, 2022 12:59 PM
Universe Advertising, Design and Layout Manager : Graphic Design
112 BRMB
801-422-1379
warren_bingham@byu.edu

Michael Burke

July 06, 2022 01:02 PM
PR Intelligence Lab Manager, Adjunct Instructor : Social Media
116 BRMB
801-422-4946
michael_burke@byu.edu

Jacey Carpenter

July 05, 2022 10:51 AM
Outreach Coordinator
365 BRMB
801-422-4510
jacey@byu.edu

Pat Doyle

July 06, 2022 01:06 PM
AdLab Manager, Adjunct Instructor : Advertising
140 BRMB
801-422-7324
pat.doyle@byu.edu

Melissa Gibbs

July 06, 2022 01:09 PM
News Lab Manager, Adjunct Instructor : Journalism
117 BRMB
801-422-7110
melissa_gibbs@byu.edu

Ellen Hernandez

July 06, 2022 01:12 PM
Daily Universe Business Operations Manager
114 BRMB
801-422-7102
ellen_hernandez@byu.edu

Debby Jackson

July 05, 2022 10:24 AM
School Secretary, Graduate Program Manager
360 BRMB
801-422-2632
debby_jackson@byu.edu

Carrie Moore

July 06, 2022 01:24 PM
Daily Universe Lab Manager, Adjunct Instructor : Journalism
150 BRMB
801-422-7212
carrie.moore@byu.edu

Alan Neves

July 06, 2022 01:27 PM
Broadcast Production Manager : Broadcasting production
120A BRMB
801-422-4426
alan_neves@byu.edu

Nicole Norris

July 05, 2022 10:46 AM
Internship Coordinator
280 BRMB
801-422-5836
nicole_norris@byu.edu

Hailey Peterson

July 07, 2022 09:44 PM
AdLab Strategy and Account Management Supervisor : Advertising
140 BRMB
hailey_peterson@byu.edu

Layne Peterson

July 05, 2022 10:41 AM
Business Manager
375 BRMB
801-422-6142
layne_peterson@byu.edu
Adjunct Faculty

Jeffrey Allred

July 07, 2022 09:55 PM
Adjunct Instructor : Photojournalism
Off-campus
jallred@desnews.com

Jason Brown

July 07, 2022 10:00 PM
Adjunct Instructor : Public Relations
Off-campus
brown.jasondavid@gmail.com

Caroline Clark

July 07, 2022 10:03 PM
Adjunct Instructor : Media Law
Off-campus
ccr.clark@gmail.com

Tracie Cudworth

July 07, 2022 10:05 PM
Adjunct Instructor : Journalism
Off-campus
tracieutah@yahoo.com

Kim Farah

July 07, 2022 10:13 PM
Adjunct Instructor : Public Relations
Off-campus
kimmyfarah@yahoo.com

Marcus Hardy

July 07, 2022 10:15 PM
Adjunct Instructor : Public Relations
Off-campus
marcus.k.hardy@gmail.com

Eliza Tanner Hawkins

July 07, 2022 10:17 PM
Adjunct Instructor : Core
Off-campus
eliza.t.hawkins@gmail.com

Todd Hollingshead

July 07, 2022 10:20 PM
Adjunct Instructor : Public Relations
Off-campus
toddh@byu.edu

Alexis Hooley

July 07, 2022 10:22 PM
Adjunct Instructor : Media Ethics
Off-campus
ahooley@hooleylaw.com

Randall Jeppesen

July 07, 2022 10:26 PM
Adjunct Instructor : Journalism
Off-campus
riodejepp@hotmail.com

David Johnson

July 07, 2022 10:29 PM
Adjunct Instructor : Media Ethics
Off-campus
david.shane.johnson@gmail.com

Ahmad Kareh

July 08, 2022 07:45 AM
Adjunct Instructor : Advertising
Off-campus
ahmad@twistlab.com

Chad Little

July 08, 2022 07:48 AM
Adjunct Instructor : Public Relations
490 TNRB
801-422-1512
chad_little@byu.edu

Andrew Miller

July 08, 2022 07:50 AM
Adjunct Instructor : Public Relations
Off-campus
amillerbyu@gmail.com

Jacob Parry

July 08, 2022 07:53 AM
Adjunct Instructor : Public Relations
Off-campus
bocaj03@gmail.com

Bill Payton

July 08, 2022 07:55 AM
Adjunct Instructor : Advertising/Public Relations
Off-campus
billp72@gmail.com

Meagan Pendleton

July 08, 2022 07:57 AM
Adjunct Instructor : Advertising
Off-campus
meaganlynpendleton@gmail.com

James Rich

July 08, 2022 07:59 AM
Adjunct Instructor : Advertising
Off-campus
james@y2analytics.com

Amee Rock

July 08, 2022 08:01 AM
Adjunct Instructor : Public Relations
Off-campus
awrockbyu@gmail.com

Adam Sanders

July 08, 2022 08:02 AM
Adjunct Instructor : Public Relations
Off-campus
adsanders@gmail.com

Aaron Sorenson

July 08, 2022 08:05 AM
Adjunct Instructor : Public Relations
C344 ASB
801-422-4377
aaron_sorenson@byu.edu

Tyler Stahle

July 08, 2022 08:07 AM
Adjunct Instructor : Public Relations
Off-campus
tyler_stahle@byu.edu

Jeffrey Taylor

July 08, 2022 08:09 AM
Adjunct Instructor : Advertising
Off-campus
jeffreyataylor@me.com

Benjamin Whisenant

July 08, 2022 08:15 AM
Adjunct Instructor : Media Law
Off-campus
ben.whisenant@gmail.com

Kevin Wilson

July 08, 2022 08:12 AM
Adjunct Instructor : Public Relations
Off-campus
kevin@wilsonpr.com

Greg Wrubell

July 08, 2022 08:17 AM
Adjunct Instructor : Sports Journalism
Off-campus
greg_wrubell@byu.edu
Emeritus

Sherry Baker

July 08, 2022 08:21 AM
Emeritus : Communications law and ethics
sherry_baker@byu.edu

Leonard Bartlett

July 08, 2022 08:26 AM
Emeritus : Advertising; Mass media ethics; Art history
leebar30@comcast.net

M. Dallas Burnett

July 08, 2022 08:23 AM
Emeritus : Communications law; Newswriting; Reporting
dallas.burnett@comcast.net

John Hughes

July 08, 2022 08:28 AM
Emeritus : Broadcasting and journalism
john_hughes@byu.edu

Alf Pratte

July 08, 2022 08:38 AM
Emeritus : Journalism
alfpratte@yahoo.com

Robert Wakefield

July 08, 2022 08:40 AM
Emeritus : Public Relations
robert_wakefield@byu.edu

Laurie Wilson

July 08, 2022 08:42 AM
Emeritus : Public Relations
laurie_wilson@byu.edu