School of Communications Faculty & Staff

Full-time Faculty
Adams, Ed
Dean, Professor
A-501 HFAC
801-422-1221 ed_adams@byu.edu
Media History
Boyle, Kristoffer
Associate Professor
322 BRMB
801-422-3272 kris_boyle@byu.edu
Journalism
Brubaker, Pamela
Associate Professor
320 BRMB
801-422-5591 pamela_brubaker@byu.edu
Public relations, strategic communications, social media, research
Callahan, Clark
Associate Professor, Associate Director – Graduate Studies
360 BRMB
801-422-1493 clark_callahan@byu.edu
Theories of intercultural adaptation; Historical diffusion of innovation; Media ecology
Callister, Mark
Professor
210A BRMB
801-422-6143 mark_callister@byu.edu
Family and the media; Visual imagery in print advertising; Portrayals of the elderly in the media
Campbell, Joel
Associate Teaching Professor
314 BRMB
801-422-2125 joeljaycampbell@gmail.com
Reporting; Editing
Carter, Ed
Professor, Director
360 BRMB
801-422-4340 ed_carter@byu.edu
Communications law; Copyright law
Church, Scott
Assistant Professor
305 BRMB
801-422-0578 scott_church@byu.edu
Media and rhetoric
Cressman, Dale
Associate Professor
310 BRMB
801-422-1686 cressman@byu.edu
Media history;  Journalism
Cutri, Chris
Associate Professor
312 BRMB
801-422-1358 chris_cutri@byu.edu
Creative concepting for advertising; Television commercial production; Visual literacy
John, Kevin
Assistant Professor
234A BRMB
801-422-7159 kevin_john@byu.edu
Health communications and media
Kelly, Kevin
Associate Teaching Professor
347B BRMB
801-422-6039 kevin_kelly@byu.edu
Advertising
Knighton, Devin
Assistant Professor
328 BRMB
801-422-5731 devin.knighton@byu.edu
Public relations
Plowman, Ken
Associate Professor
326 BRMB
801-422-6493 ken_plowman@byu.edu
Public relations
Randle, Quint
Associate Professor
332 BRMB
801-422-1694 quint_randle@byu.edu
Journalism
Robinson, Tom
Professor
329 BRMB
801-422-3977 tom_robinson@byu.edu
Advertising
Romney, Miles
Assistant Professor
304 BRMB
801-422-0868 miles_romney@byu.edu
Journalism
Sheets, Jeff
Associate Teaching Professor
331 BRMB
801-422-3524 jeff_sheets@byu.edu
Advertising
Smith, Brian
Associate Professor
303 BRMB
801-422-7889        brian.g.smith@byu.edu
Public relations
Thomsen, Steve
Professor
324 BRMB
801-422-2078
steven_thomsen@byu.edu
International Media Studies
Walz, Robert
Associate Teaching Professor
316 BRMB
801-422-1613 robert_walz@byu.edu
Broadcast journalism
Wilson, Christopher
Assistant Professor, Associate Director – Undergraduate Studies
360C BRMB
801-422-0988 chriswilson@byu.edu
Public Relations
Zurcher, Jessica
Assistant Professor
318 BRMB
801-422-0303 jessica_zurcher@byu.edu
Communications Studies
Adjunct Faculty
Alley, Luke
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus luke.alley@gmail.comPublic Relations
Allred, Jeff
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus jallred@desnews.comPhotojournalism
Bertoch, Norma
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus norma_collett@byu.eduWomen and Sports
Brooks, Kylie
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus kylie_brooks@byu.eduPublic Relations
Brown, Derek
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus brownderek@gmail.comMedia Law
Brown, Jason
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus brown.jasondavid@gmail.comPublic Relations
Clark, Caroline
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus
ccr.clark@gmail.com
Media Law
Craynor, Cody
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus codycranor@yahoo.comPublic Relations
Cudworth, Tracie
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus tracieutah@yahoo.comJournalism
Farah, Kim
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus kimmyfarah@yahoo.comPublic Relations
Gray, Paxton
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus paxtonmgray@gmail.comPublic Relations
Gustafson, Mark
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus digital@900kings.comPublic Relations
Hardy, Marcus
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus marcus.k.hardy@gmail.com Public Relations
Hargreaves, Matt
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus matt.hargreaves@gmail.comPublic Relations
Hatch, Dallin
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus dallin.hatch@gmail.comPublic Relations
Hawkins, Eliza Tanner
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus eliza.t.hawkins@byu.eduCore
Hill, Aaron
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus aaron@sawtoothsoftware.comPublic Relations
Hollingshead, Todd
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus
toddh@byu.edu
Public Relations
Hyde, Michelle
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus
mhyde6@byu.edu
Core
Janke, Amberly
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus
amberlyasay@msn.com
Public Relations
Jeppesen, Randall
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus riodejepp@hotmail.comJournalism
Johnson, David
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus david.shane.johnson@gmail.comMedia Ethics
Karah, Ahmad
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus
ahmad@kareh.com
Advertising
Little, Chad
Adjunct Instructor
490 TNRB
801-422-1512 chad_little@byu.edu
Public Relations
Miller, Andrew
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus amillerbyu@gmail.comPublic Relations
Parker, Ryan
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus parkercommaryan@gmail.comPublic Relations
Payton, Bill
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus
billp72@gmail.com
Advertising/Public Relations
Pendleton, Sara
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus
sepayne@gmail.com
Media Law
Peterson, Hailey
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus haileydel@gmail.comPublic Relations
Rich, James
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus james@y2analytics.comAdvertising
Rock, Amee
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus awrockbyu@gmail.comPublic Relations
Sanders, Christina
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus christina.h.sanders@gmail.comPublic Relations
Sears, John
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus sears.john@hotmail.comBroadcast Journalism
Sheffer, Bridget
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus bridgetsheffer@gmail.comComms Studies
Smith, Ryan
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus ryan.smith53@gmail.comPublic Relations
Smith, Staci
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus
smit2073@purdue.edu
Comms Studies
Tuckett, Susan
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus stuckett@comcast.netAdvertising
Watson, Andrew
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus andrewrosswatson@gmail.comPublic Relations
Wilkins, Brinton
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus bwilkins@kmclaw.comMedia Law
Whisenant, Benjamin
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus ben.whisenant@gmail.comMedia Law
Wright, Stephen
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus stevewright59@msn.comAdvertising
Wrubell, Greg
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus greg_wrubell@byu.eduSports Journalism
Staff
Bingham, Warren
Universe Advertising
Design and Layout Manager
112 BRMB
801-422-1379 warren_bingham@byu.edu
Graphic design
Carpenter, Jacey
Outreach Coordinator
365 BRMB
801-422-4510
jacey@byu.edu
Doyle, Pat
AdLab Manager
Adjunct Instructor
140 BRMB
801-422-7324 pat.doyle@byu.edu
Advertising
Durfee, Adam
YDigital Agency Manager, Adjunct Instructor
116 BRMB
801-422-4946 adam_durfee@byu.edu
 Social Media
Fidel, Steve
Director, Universe News Lab, Adjunct Instructor
110 BRMB
801-422-2958 steve.fidel@byu.edu
News writing; News research methods
Gibbs, Melissa
Broadcast Lab Manager, Adjunct Instructor
117 BRMB
801-422-7110 melissa_gibbs@byu.edu
Journalism
Hernandez, Ellen
Business Manager, Universe
114 BRMB
801-422-7102 ellen_hernandez@byu.edu
Jackson, Debby
School Secretary
360 BRMB
801-422-2632 debby_jackson@byu.edu
Moore, Carrie
Universe Newsroom Manager, Adjunct Instructor
150 BRMB
801-422-7212 carrie.moore@byu.edu
Journalism
Neves, Alan
Broadcast News Lab Operations Coordinator
120A BRMB
801-422-4426 alan_neves@byu.edu
Broadcast production
Norris, Nicole
Internship Coordinator
280 BRMB
801-422-5836 nicole_norris@byu.edu
Peterson, Layne
Business Manager
375 BRMB
801-422-6142 layne_peterson@byu.edu
Richards, Othello
Biometrics Lab Manager, Adjunct Instructor
306 BRMB
801-422-othello.richards@ttu.edu
Emeritus
Baker, Sherry
Emeritus
sherry_baker@byu.eduCommunications law and ethics
Burnett, M. Dallas
Emeritus
dallas.burnett@comcast.netCommunications law; Newswriting; Reporting
Bartlett, Leonard
Emeritus
leebar30@comcast.netAdvertising; Mass media ethics; Art history
Hughes, John
Emeritus
john_hughes@byu.eduBroadcasting and journalism
Pratte, Alf
Emeritus
alfpratte@yahoo.comJournalism
Wakefield, Robert
Emeritus
robert_wakefield@byu.eduPublic Relations
Wilson, Laurie
Emeritus
laurie_wilson@byu.eduPublic Relations
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt