School of Communications Faculty & Staff

Full-time Faculty
Adams, Ed
Dean, Professor
A-501 HFAC
801-422-1221 ed_adams@byu.edu
Media History
Boyle, Kristoffer
Associate Professor
322 BRMB
801-422-3272 kris_boyle@byu.edu
Journalism
Brubaker, Pamela
Associate Professor
320 BRMB
801-422-5591 pamela_brubaker@byu.edu
Public relations, strategic communications, social media, research
Callahan, Clark
Professor, Associate Director – Graduate Studies
360 BRMB
801-422-1493 clark_callahan@byu.edu
Theories of intercultural adaptation; Historical diffusion of innovation; Media ecology
Callister, Mark
Professor, Director
360 BRMB
801-422-6143 mark_callister@byu.edu
Family and the media; Visual imagery in print advertising; Portrayals of the elderly in the media
Campbell, Joel
Associate Teaching Professor
314 BRMB
801-422-2125 joeljaycampbell@gmail.com
Reporting; Editing
Carter, Ed
Professor
329 BRMB
801-422-4340 ed_carter@byu.edu
Communications law; Copyright law
Church, Scott
Associate Professor
305 BRMB
801-422-0578 scott_church@byu.edu
Popular culture, media ecology, online culture and rhetoric
Cressman, Dale
Associate Professor
310 BRMB
801-422-1686 cressman@byu.edu
Media history;  Journalism
Cutri, Chris
Associate Professor
312 BRMB
801-422-1358 chris_cutri@byu.edu
Creative concepting for advertising; Television commercial production; Visual literacy
Freeman, Jason
Assistant Professor
328 BRMB
801-422-4947 jason_freeman@byu.edu
Advertising
John, Kevin
Associate Professor
234A BRMB
801-422-7159 kevin_john@byu.edu
Health communications and media
Knighton, Devin
Assistant Professor
328 BRMB
801-422-5731 devin.knighton@byu.edu
Public relations
Plowman, Ken
Associate Professor
326 BRMB
801-422-6493 ken_plowman@byu.edu
Public relations
Randle, Quint
Associate Professor
332 BRMB
801-422-1694 quint_randle@byu.edu
Journalism
Robinson, Tom
Professor
210A BRMB
801-422-3977 tom_robinson@byu.edu
Advertising
Romney, Miles
Assistant Professor
304 BRMB
801-422-0868 miles_romney@byu.edu
Journalism
Sheets, Jeff
Associate Teaching Professor
331 BRMB
801-422-3524 jeff_sheets@byu.edu
Advertising
Smith, Brian
Associate Professor
303 BRMB
801-422-7889        brian.g.smith@byu.edu
Public relations
Thomsen, Steve
Professor
324 BRMB
801-422-2078
steven_thomsen@byu.edu
International Media Studies
Walz, Robert
Associate Teaching Professor
316 BRMB
801-422-1613 robert_walz@byu.edu
Broadcast journalism
Wilson, Christopher
Associate Professor, Associate Director – Undergraduate Studies
360C BRMB
801-422-0988 chriswilson@byu.edu
Public Relations
Zurcher, Jessica
Assistant Professor
318 BRMB
801-422-0303 jessica_zurcher@byu.edu
Communications Studies
Staff
Bingham, Warren
Universe Advertising
Design and Layout Manager
112 BRMB
801-422-1379 warren_bingham@byu.edu
Graphic design
Carpenter, Jacey
Outreach Coordinator
365 BRMB
801-422-4510
jacey@byu.edu
Doyle, Pat
AdLab Manager
Adjunct Instructor
140 BRMB
801-422-7324 pat.doyle@byu.edu
Advertising
Durfee, Adam
YDigital Agency Manager, Adjunct Instructor
116 BRMB
801-422-4946 adam_durfee@byu.edu
 Social Media
Gibbs, Melissa
News Lab Manager, Adjunct Instructor
117 BRMB
801-422-7110 melissa_gibbs@byu.edu
Journalism
Hernandez, Ellen
Daily Universe Business Operations Manager
114 BRMB
801-422-7102 ellen_hernandez@byu.edu
Jackson, Debby
School Secretary, Graduate Program Manager
360 BRMB
801-422-2632 debby_jackson@byu.edu
Moore, Carrie
Daily Universe Lab Manager, Adjunct Instructor
150 BRMB
801-422-7212 carrie.moore@byu.edu
Journalism
Neves, Alan
Broadcast Production Manager
120A BRMB
801-422-4426 alan_neves@byu.edu
Broadcast production
Norris, Nicole
Internship Coordinator
280 BRMB
801-422-5836 nicole_norris@byu.edu
Peterson, Layne
Business Manager
375 BRMB
801-422-6142 layne_peterson@byu.edu
Richards, Othello
Biometrics Lab Manager, Adjunct Instructor
306 BRMB
801-422-0450 othello_richards@byu.edu
Adjunct Faculty
Allred, Jeff
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus jallred@desnews.comPhotojournalism
Brown, Jason
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus brown.jasondavid@gmail.comPublic Relations
Clark, Caroline
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus
ccr.clark@gmail.com
Media Law
Cudworth, Tracie
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus tracieutah@yahoo.comJournalism
Farah, Kim
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus kimmyfarah@yahoo.comPublic Relations
Hardy, Marcus
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus marcus.k.hardy@gmail.com Public Relations
Hawkins, Eliza Tanner
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus eliza.t.hawkins@byu.eduCore
Hollingshead, Todd
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus
toddh@byu.edu
Public Relations
Hooley, Alexis
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus
ahooley@hooleylaw.com
Media Law
Jeppesen, Randall
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus riodejepp@hotmail.comJournalism
Johnson, David
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus david.shane.johnson@gmail.comMedia Ethics
Little, Chad
Adjunct Instructor
490 TNRB
801-422-1512 chad_little@byu.edu
Public Relations
Miller, Andrew
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus amillerbyu@gmail.comPublic Relations
Parry, Jacob
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus
bocaj03@gmail.com
Public Relations
Payton, Bill
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus
billp72@gmail.com
Advertising/Public Relations
Peterson, Hailey
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus haileydel@gmail.comPublic Relations
Pendleton, Meagan
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus meaganlynpendleton@gmail.comAdvertising
Rich, James
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus james@y2analytics.comAdvertising
Rock, Amee
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus awrockbyu@gmail.comPublic Relations
Smith, Ryan
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus ryan.smith53@gmail.comPublic Relations
Tuckett, Susan
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus stuckett@comcast.netAdvertising
Wilson, Kevin
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus
kevin@wilsonpr.com
Public Relations
Whisenant, Benjamin
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus ben.whisenant@gmail.comMedia Law
Wrubell, Greg
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus greg_wrubell@byu.eduSports Journalism
Emeritus
Baker, Sherry
Emeritus
sherry_baker@byu.eduCommunications law and ethics
Burnett, M. Dallas
Emeritus
dallas.burnett@comcast.netCommunications law; Newswriting; Reporting
Bartlett, Leonard
Emeritus
leebar30@comcast.netAdvertising; Mass media ethics; Art history
Hughes, John
Emeritus
john_hughes@byu.eduBroadcasting and journalism
Pratte, Alf
Emeritus
alfpratte@yahoo.comJournalism
Wakefield, Robert
Emeritus
robert_wakefield@byu.eduPublic Relations
Wilson, Laurie
Emeritus
laurie_wilson@byu.eduPublic Relations
Full-time Faculty
Adams, Ed
Dean, Professor
Media History
A-501 HFAC
801-422-1221 ed_adams@byu.edu
Boyle, Kristoffer
Associate Professor
Journalism
322 BRMB
801-422-3272 kris_boyle@byu.edu
Brubaker, Pamela
Associate Professor
Public relations, strategic communications, social media, research
320 BRMB
801-422-5591 pamela_brubaker@byu.edu
Callahan, Clark
Professor, Associate Director – Graduate Studies
Theories of intercultural adaptation; Historical diffusion of innovation; Media ecology
360 BRMB
801-422-1493 clark_callahan@byu.edu
Callister, Mark
Professor, Director
Family and the media; Visual imagery in print advertising; Portrayals of the elderly in the media
360 BRMB
801-422-6143 mark_callister@byu.edu
Campbell, Joel
Associate Teaching Professor
Reporting; Editing
314 BRMB
801-422-2125 joeljaycampbell@gmail.com
Carter, Ed
Professor
Communications law; Copyright law
329 BRMB
801-422-4340 ed_carter@byu.edu
Church, Scott
Associate Professor
Popular culture, media ecology, online culture and rhetoric
305 BRMB
801-422-0578 scott_church@byu.edu
Cressman, Dale
Associate Professor
Media history;  Journalism
310 BRMB
801-422-1686 cressman@byu.edu
Cutri, Chris
Associate Professor
Creative concepting for advertising; Television commercial production; Visual literacy
312 BRMB
801-422-1358 chris_cutri@byu.edu
Freeman, Jason
Assistant Professor
Advertising
328 BRMB
801-422-4947 jason_freeman@byu.edu
John, Kevin
Associate Professor
Health communications and media
234A BRMB
801-422-7159 kevin_john@byu.edu
Knighton, Devin
Assistant Professor
Public relations
328 BRMB
801-422-5731 devin.knighton@byu.edu
Plowman, Ken
Associate Professor
Public relations
326 BRMB
801-422-6493 ken_plowman@byu.edu
Randle, Quint
Associate Professor
332 BRMB
801-422-1694 quint_randle@byu.edu
Robinson, Tom
Professor
Advertising
210A BRMB
801-422-3977 tom_robinson@byu.edu
Romney, Miles
Assistant Professor
304 BRMB
801-422-0868 miles_romney@byu.edu
Sheets, Jeff
Associate Teaching Professor
Advertising
331 BRMB
801-422-3524 jeff_sheets@byu.edu
Smith, Brian
Associate Professor
Public relations
303 BRMB
801-422-7889        brian.g.smith@byu.edu
Thomsen, Steve
Professor
International Media Studies
324 BRMB
801-422-2078
steven_thomsen@byu.edu
Walz, Robert
Associate Teaching Professor
Broadcast journalism
316 BRMB
801-422-1613 robert_walz@byu.edu
Wilson, Christopher
Associate Professor, Associate Director – Undergraduate Studies
Public Relations
360C BRMB
801-422-0988 chriswilson@byu.edu
Zurcher, Jessica
Assistant Professor
Communications Studies
318 BRMB
801-422-0303 jessica_zurcher@byu.edu
Staff
Bingham, Warren
Universe Advertising
Design and Layout Manager
Graphic design
112 BRMB
801-422-1379 warren_bingham@byu.edu
Carpenter, Jacey
Outreach Coordinator
365 BRMB
801-422-4510
jacey@byu.edu
Doyle, Pat
AdLab Manager
Adjunct Instructor
Advertising
140 BRMB
801-422-7324 pat.doyle@byu.edu
Durfee, Adam
YDigital Agency Manager, Adjunct Instructor
116 BRMB
801-422-4946 adam_durfee@byu.edu
Gibbs, Melissa
News Lab Manager, Adjunct Instructor
Journalism
117 BRMB
801-422-7110 melissa_gibbs@byu.edu
Hernandez, Ellen
Daily Universe Business Operations Manager
114 BRMB
801-422-7102 ellen_hernandez@byu.edu
Jackson, Debby
School Secretary, Graduate Program Manager
360 BRMB
801-422-2632 debby_jackson@byu.edu
Moore, Carrie
Daily Universe Lab Manager, Adjunct Instructor
Journalism
150 BRMB
801-422-7212 carrie.moore@byu.edu
Neves, Alan
Broadcast Production Manager
Broadcast production
120A BRMB
801-422-4426 alan_neves@byu.edu
Norris, Nicole
Internship Coordinator
280 BRMB
801-422-5836 nicole_norris@byu.edu
Peterson, Layne
Business Manager
375 BRMB
801-422-6142 layne_peterson@byu.edu
Richards, Othello
Biometrics Lab Manager, Adjunct Instructor
306 BRMB
801-422-0450 othello_richards@byu.edu
Adjunct Faculty
Allred, Ben
Adjunct Instructor
Advertising
Off-campus allred.benjamin@gmail.com
Allred, Jeff
Adjunct Instructor
Photojournalism
Off-campus jallred@desnews.com
Bond, Jamie
Adjunct Instructor
Advertising
Off-campus jamiebcurtis@gmail.com
Brooks, Kylie
Adjunct Instructor
Public Relations
Off-campus kylie_brooks@byu.edu
Brown, Derek
Adjunct Instructor
Media Law
Off-campus brownderek@gmail.com
Brown, Jason
Adjunct Instructor
Public Relations
Off-campus brown.jasondavid@gmail.com
Clark, Caroline
Adjunct Instructor
Media Law
Off-campus
ccr.clark@gmail.com
Cudworth, Tracie
Adjunct Instructor
Off-campus tracieutah@yahoo.com
Farah, Kim
Adjunct Instructor
Public Relations
Off-campus kimmyfarah@yahoo.com
Gray, Paxton
Adjunct Instructor
Public Relations
Off-campus paxtonmgray@gmail.com
Gustafson, Mark
Adjunct Instructor
Public Relations
Off-campus digital@900kings.com
Hardy, Marcus
Adjunct Instructor
 Public Relations
Off-campus marcus.k.hardy@gmail.com
Hawkins, Eliza Tanner
Adjunct Instructor
Core
Off-campus eliza.t.hawkins@byu.edu
Hollingshead, Todd
Adjunct Instructor
Public Relations
Off-campus
toddh@byu.edu
Hooley, Alexis
Adjunct Instructor
Media Law
Off-campus
ahooley@hooleylaw.com
Jeppesen, Randall
Adjunct Instructor
Journalism
Off-campus riodejepp@hotmail.com
Johnson, David
Adjunct Instructor
Media Ethics
Off-campus david.shane.johnson@gmail.com
Karah, Ahmad
Adjunct Instructor
Advertising
Off-campus
ahmad@kareh.com
Little, Chad
Adjunct Instructor
Public Relations
490 TNRB
801-422-1512 chad_little@byu.edu
Miller, Andrew
Adjunct Instructor
Public Relations
Off-campus amillerbyu@gmail.com
Parker, Ryan
Adjunct Instructor
Public Relations
Off-campus parkercommaryan@gmail.com
Payton, Bill
Adjunct Instructor
Advertising/Public Relations
Off-campus
billp72@gmail.com
Pendleton, Sara
Adjunct Instructor
Media Law
Off-campus
sepayne@gmail.com
Peterson, Hailey
Adjunct Instructor
Public Relations
Off-campus haileydel@gmail.com
Rich, James
Adjunct Instructor
Advertising
Off-campus james@y2analytics.com
Rock, Amee
Adjunct Instructor
Public Relations
Off-campus awrockbyu@gmail.com
Sears, John
Adjunct Instructor
Broadcast Journalism
Off-campus sears.john@hotmail.com
Smith, Ryan
Adjunct Instructor
Public Relations
Off-campus ryan.smith53@gmail.com
Tuckett, Susan
Adjunct Instructor
Advertising
Off-campus stuckett@comcast.net
Watson, Andrew
Adjunct Instructor
Public Relations
Off-campus andrewrosswatson@gmail.com
Wilkins, Brinton
Adjunct Instructor
Media Law
Off-campus bwilkins@kmclaw.com
Whisenant, Benjamin
Adjunct Instructor
Media Law
Off-campus ben.whisenant@gmail.com
Wright, Stephen
Adjunct Instructor
Advertising
Off-campus stevewright59@msn.com
Wrubell, Greg
Adjunct Instructor
Sports Journalism
Off-campus greg_wrubell@byu.edu
Emeritus
Baker, Sherry
Emeritus
Communications law and ethics
sherry_baker@byu.edu
Burnett, M. Dallas
Emeritus
Communications law; Newswriting; Reporting
dallas.burnett@comcast.net
Bartlett, Leonard
Emeritus
Advertising; Mass media ethics; Art history
leebar30@comcast.net
Hughes, John
Emeritus
Broadcasting and journalism
john_hughes@byu.edu
Pratte, Alf
Emeritus
Journalism
alfpratte@yahoo.com
Wakefield, Robert
Emeritus
Public Relations
robert_wakefield@byu.edu
Wilson, Laurie
Emeritus
Public Relations
laurie_wilson@byu.edu
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt